St. Luke’s Cemetery, located at 850 Wolcott Avenue (9D), was designed in 1870 by the father of American Landscape Architecture, Henry Winthrop Sargent. Many of the trees and shrubs he planted are gone, but some survive. Behind the church is a path lined with copper beeches, a testament to Sargent’s design.
In 2008, St. Luke’s Church and grounds were placed on the National Register of Historic Places. Frederick C. Withers of New York designed St. Luke’s church, ground was broken on August 10, 1868, and the church was completed in two years. The church bell was rung on December 15, 1869, the first church bell to be rung in Matteawan. On June 9, 1870, the first services were held in the new church.
St. Luke’s Cemetery is composed of three cemeteries. The oldest is St. Anna’s Episcopal and is located near Union Avenue and Phillips Street. The earliest known burial is that of Anna Huggins in 1812. Next to it is the Presbyterian Cemetery which continues to about Vail Avenue. This cemetery was established around 1832. In 1866, when land was deeded for the new church the name of the parish was changed to St. Luke. The church of St. Anna’s on Main Street was sold to the Methodist Church.
St. Luke’s Church website has additional information about the history of the church.